• Banner

Board of Commissioners

County Commissioners

Request email notification when page changes E-Notify

Board of Commissioners

The Benzie County Board of Commissioners is the governing body for the County of Benzie, exercising legislative and administrative functions. There are seven members on the Board, each elected on a partisan basis for two-year terms (January 1 to December 31) from districts that are approximately equal in population. Board Leadership is elected each year by the Board and consists of a Chairperson and a Vice-Chairperson.

The primary functions of the Board of Commissioners include determination of type and level of County services, adoption of County budget, equalization of property values, legislative oversight of services provided by Benzie County, and appointment of various Commissions and advisory boards.

*View Benzie County Board of Commissioner Meetings at www.YouTube.com/@BenzieCounty


Areas Represented Commissioner Contact Information
I Almira Township 
East of Reynolds Road
Bob Roelofs-R PO Box 81
Lake Ann, MI  49650
Email Bob
II Almira Township 
West of Reynolds Road
Lake Township
sections 27 & 26 and 
Don Marshall subdivision
Platte Township
Inland Township
Sections 1-6 and part of 7
Art Jeannot-R PO Box 317
Honor, MI 49640
Email Art
III City of Frankfort
Crystal Lake Township
Lake Township 
Except sections 27 & 26
and Don Marshall 
Karen Cunningham-D 448 Court Place
Beulah, MI  49617
Email Karen
IV Benzonia Township
Except section 35 north 
of Love Road,  west half
of section 36 and west
of section 31
Rhonda Nye-R 6515 South Street
Benzonia, MI  49616
Email Rhonda
V Homestead Township
Benzonia Township
section 35 north of Love
road, west half of section 
36 and west of section 31
Tim Markey-R PO Box 91
Honor, MI  49640
Email Tim

VI Colfax Township
Inland Township
except section 1-6 and 
part of section 7 
Evan Warsecke-R 448 Court Place
Beulah, MI 49617
Email Evan
VII Blaine Township
Gilmore Township
Joyfield Township
Weldon Township
Gary Sauer-R 4558 Mick Road
Frankfort, MI 49635
(231) 651-0647
Email Gary

Districts and Townships Maps
See the Commissioner Districts map below and the "Areas Represented" column in the table above to see the townships covered by each district.

Please click image to view detail.

commission map_small_001-min - Copy - Copy

Townships in Benzie County

Benzie Map c

Click on an image for a larger view.

Commissioners' Committees
  • Committee of the Whole - Commissioners Nye (chair), Jeannot, Markey, Roelofs, Sauer and Warsecke.   Meet 2nd and 4th Tuesday of the month at 1:30 pm, Commissioners Room, Government Center.
  • Planning Commission Ordinance -- 2017-001 -- REPEALED 2/22/2022
ORV Ordinance documents

Current Weather

© 2015 - Benzie County, Michigan - 448 Court Place, Beulah, Michigan 49617 - Powered By Revize Login
Benzie County, Michigan